Airport Antics

People rushing to and fro, heels clicking on the cold hard floor, the thick smell of jet fuel wafting through automatic doors, tears running down faces as loved ones depart. A cacophony of sounds, sights and smells. Organised mayhem, like clockwork. Weary eyes. Bitter coffee. Restless bodies. Lengthy flights lay ahead.

I absolutely love airports the gateways to the world, the start of adventure.

I remember my first time to the international airport here in Auckland rather fondly. If I cast my mind back I imagine small cherub faced Liam, cropped mop of sandy blonde curls bouncing on top of my head, scrapbook in hand and a haggard piece of a sheepskin blanket in tow. Probably dressed in those awesome track pants that zipped off into 3/4 pants (#BringBackTheZip). Overly excited for my first overseas adventure to Australia. At the time the airport seemed like huge expanse, a maze for my young mind. Now, I walk through Auckland airport for the 400th time, waddling like penguin in my three-piece suit, wheelie bag in tow, now the airport seems tiny, I know my way around it like the back of my hand. Sighing loudly behind tediously slow walkers, and those who do not know how to ride the escalator or put their bag through security (seriously you’d think its rocket science). Check out my top tips for airports. The masses, walk with heads cocked back looking up to find their gates that are in no particular order, it’s almost like a drunk monkey went around numbering the shit out of everything.

Because the most common reason for me to be at the airport is for work, when travel comes along for my own leisure its a whole new ball game, the excitement comes flooding back, the thrill sends my senses into overdrive and I often, unashamed I might add, find myself with tears of excitement at how blessed I am to be in a position to follow my dreams and take on the world. Queues are the unwanted but exciting reminder that I am off on an adventure and not to work. #IActuallyLoveMyJob. The satisfying beep of my boarding pass being scanned instead of the clunk of my ID being swiped.

For some air travel is to be endured, for some it is enjoyed but no matter where you sit on that spectrum most of us have done it and it has become less of a novelty and more of a commodity. I adore flying, there is something about the excitement of soaring across lands and oceans, 40,000 feet above the rest of the world, and it all begins at the airport. Sharing the experience with many others, we all have different reasons for travelling and I think that that is what makes it so unique, the culmination of emotions creates this aura that is quite literally out of this world.


 

pexels-photo-42384

Leave a Reply

